Each year, one student is chosen from the ranks of the club to be the sole driver and primary caretaker of the Ramblin’ Reck. He or she is the only person with keys to the car, and the only person allowed to drive or transport the Reck. He or she knows the ins and outs of the car better than the back of his hand and spends countless hours every week not only making sure that the car is running in tip-top shape, but also scheduling appearances, meeting with alumni and administration, and working on other projects in the best interest of the Reck. Despite the hard work, the job is perhaps the most meaningful and fulfilling on campus, and an unforgettable experience for every driver.

The History of Drivers

2017     Chris Healy
2016     Mitch Brown
2015    Hillary Degenkolb
2015     Jake Meisner
2014      Raj Desai
2013      Barrett Ahlers
2012      Stephen Webber
2011      Mike Macmillan
2010      Austin Berry
2009      Winfield Tufts
2008      Brandon Kearse
2007      John Bird
2006      Bryan Popka
2005      Ryan McFerrin
2004      Dustin Bergman
2003      Justin Barnes
2002      Brian T. Waits
2001      Andy McNeil
2000      Joseph Nilsestuen
2000      Patrick Edwards
1999      Joseph Nilsestuen
1998      Michael M. Eckert
1997      Patrick Edwards
1996      Patrick Edwards
1995      Brad Sand
1994      Philip H. Burrus, 4th
1993      Thomas Penny
1992      Thomas Priest
1991      Jeffrey Waller
1990      Phillip Kelley
1989      Phillip Kelley
1988      Steven Powell
1988      Evelyn Dale Morgan
1987      Richard Coblens
1986      Barry Whitton
1985      Todd Wheeler
1984      Lisa Volmar
1984      Bruce Wheeler
1983      Darryl Dykes
1982      Christopher “Kit” Baker
1981      John Hodges
1980      Wesley Combs
1979      Bruce Wittschiebe
1978      L. Michael Lopez
1977      W. Thomas Smith, Jr.
1976      Kenneth Box
1975      Kenneth Box
1974      W. Scott Innes
1973      M. Russell Smith
1972      Thomas Robertson
1971      Steve Clark
1970      Patrick Hurley
1969      William Cherry
1968      William Cherry
Beginning in 1968, drivers were selected by the Ramblin Reck Club.

Drivers from 1961-1967 were selected by the Student Council. 
1967      Tom Feld
1966      Tim O’Shea
1965      John Ryan
1965      Doug Chandler
1964      Jack Painter
1963      Phil Gingrey
1963      Jack Painter
1962      Henry Sawyer
1961      Dekle Rountree
1961      Donald Gentry

If you have any information concerning the history of the Ramblin’ Reck or its drivers, please contact the current driver by filling out the form below:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Story about the Reck